Before the ending of the day 4

IMG_4785

What tradition will help me find my way to my true self, my vocation and my community? Henri Nouwen

I was brought  up in the baptist tradition whose defining theological foundation explores what it means to build community in the light of baptism into Christ. This has meant that most of my life I have been part of Baptist churches. However, I have come to realise that it is not enough to say: this is the church for me or I go to such and such a church.

Now that I am released from religious responsibility, what I must really ask is whether or not this place or company of people is where I know I am in communion with the Christ-like God.

And there may well be a number of them since I cannot settle for as the Son of Man had nowhere to lay his head so might his followers.

As I come to the close of another Sunday I cannot ignore the demands that I and others have made on our clergy and ministers, stewards and elders, musicians and door-keepers who keep our religious institutions on the road just so we can turn up when we please.

And so with a prayer of gratitude for your vocations I look back over the day and discover where I have been in communion.

One thought on “Before the ending of the day 4

Leave a Reply

